Board of Directors

The DSWAI has an active board including professional dry stone wallers and members of other professions who are interested in dry stone walls.  If you are interested in serving on the board of directors, please contact us for more information.

Dr. John  Lyness 

Dr. John  Lyness  is Reader Emeritus in Civil Engineering at the Ulster University. He is a Chartered Civil Engineer, Structural Engineer and Mathematician with a keen interest in Appropriate Technology.


He is a past Chair with the Institution of Structural Engineers, Northern Ireland Region and was elected to the board of Directors of the DSWAI in 2018.

Dr Clíodhna Ní Lionáin

Dr Clíodhna Ní Lionáin joined the DSWAI Board of Directors in 2021, she is a licenced archaeologist with extensive excavation experience in Ireland and Iberia. She is currently directing the excavation of the Dowth Hall passage tomb. Her research interests include prehistoric archaeology, open-air rock art, and photogrammetry.


Since 2016, she has attended the DWSAI festivals, which have helped to provide an insight into how prehistoric stone masons might have constructed the monuments that she now excavates.

Rónán Crehan

Rónán Crehan has been working with stone for over 20 years, recently taking up a position with the OPW.

He was a traditional stone walling instructor of the Donegal Educational Training Board (ETB) for a number of years and was elected to the board of directors in 2017.

Rónán is also on the DSWAI’s training committee and is a key instructor on many of the DSWAI’s workshops and events.  

Kenneth Curran

Kenneth Curran is an Anthropologist/Archaeologist and Dry Stone Waller.

Ken has been dry stone walling for over 14 years.

Since 2010, he has had a small stonecraft business in Cloughjordan, County Tipperary, specialising in Dry Stone building.

Ken delivers tutorials in a range of stone craft related topics as well as teaching dry stone walling both as a professional tutor and as a volunteer with DSWAI.

He has been a board member since November 2017.